(News) WORLD – Pirate attacks more frequent in areas with harmful fishing practices

https://www.zmescience.com/ecology/environmental-issues/pirateattacks-illegal-fishing-19022021/ A new study finds that pirate attacks occur more frequently in areas where destructive or illegal fishing practices happen, and enforcing sustainable fishing practices could eliminate the incentive for piracy.

(News) INDIAN OCEAN- Chinese warships deployed in Indian Ocean for AntiPiracy mission

https://in.news.yahoo.com/chinese-warships-deployed-indian-ocean173500991.html Chinese Warships have been spotted in Indian Ocean and are said to be on an Anti-Piracy mission. They have been deployed there to guard against pirates who have been increasingly aggressive in recent times....

(News) INDIA – MEA should make sincere efforts to enhance global cooperation on maritime...

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/india/mea-should-make-sincereefforts-to-enhance-global-cooperation-on-maritime-piracy-parl-panel/articleshow/80867248.cms The Ministry of External Affairs should make sincere efforts to enhance international cooperation on maritime piracy and ensure the welfare of Indian seafarers captured by pirates, a parliamentary panel said on Thursday.

(News) IRAN – Iran agrees to release crew of seized South Korean tanker

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2021/2/2/iran-agrees-to-release-crew-ofseized-south-korean-tanker The Iranian government says it has agreed to allow the crew members of a South Korean ship it seized last month for alleged environmental pollution to leave the country. “Following a request by the South...

(Ops) RED SEA – Arab coalition foils two Al Houthi attacks

https://gulfnews.com/world/gulf/saudi/arab-coalition-foils-two-al-houthiattacks-1.1611315159933 A Saudi-led Arab coalition foiled on Friday two “terrorist” attacks launched by Yemen’s Iran-aligned Al Houthi militia targeting Saudi Arabia. The coalition intercepted and destroyed an explosive boat sent by Al Houthis in the southern...

(News) STRAIT OF HORMUZ – South Korea moves anti-piracy unit away from Strait of...

https://www.tehrantimes.com/news/457092/South-Korea-moves-antipiracy-unit-away-from-Strait-of-Hormuz In a bid to calm tensions with Iran, South Korea has decided to move its anti-piracy naval unit operating near the strategic Strait of Hormuz away from the waterway, South Korea’s Yonhap News Agency...

(News) SOMALIA – International Maritime Bureau calls for vigilance on piracy off the coast...

https://newsghana.com.gh/international-maritime-bureau-urgesvigilance-on-piracy-off-coast-of-somalia/ On Wednesday, IBM called on foreign ships to remain vigilant while transiting the Arabian Sea and the Gulf of Aden, saying that despite the decline in piracy off the coast of Somalia, danger persists...

(News) PERSIAN GULF – IRGC, Iranian forces are on full alert

https://en.mehrnews.com/news/168386/IRGC-Army-naval-forces-onfull-alert-in-Persian-Gulf-waters Iranian naval forces are on full alert and in complete control of the Persian Gulf waters and the Sea of Oman against any external provocations, the commander of the Islamic Revolutionary Guards Corps Navy...

(News) IRAN – South Korea begins diplomatic efforts to release chemical tanker seized by...

https://www.thenationalnews.com/world/south-korea-begins-diplomaticefforts-to-release-chemical-tanker-seized-by-iran-1.1140613 South Korea's foreign ministry is reviewing whether a senior diplomat would be visiting Tehran on Sunday as planned after Iranian forces seized a South Korean-flagged chemical tanker in Gulf waters and detained its crew,...

(News) MIDDLE EAST – Attacks on ships in middle east points towards Iranbacked group

https://news.usni.org/2021/01/06/spate-of-attacks-on-ships-in-middleeast-points-to-iran-backed-group The Middle East remains a volatile area for merchant shipping into the new year, according to the analysis of attacks on ships in the region. Tankers and other civilian ships face real risks of...

(Info) MONDE – Les attaques de pirates sont plus fréquentes dans les zones où...

https://www.zmescience.com/ecology/environmental-issues/pirate-attacksillegal-fishing-19022021/ Une nouvelle étude révèle que les attaques de pirates sont plus fréquentes dans les zones où des pratiques de pêche illicites ou destructrices ont lieu, et l'application de pratiques de pêche durables pourrait éliminer...

(Info) OCEAN INDIEN – Des navires de guerre chinois déployés dans l’océan Indien...

https://in.news.yahoo.com/chinese-warships-deployed-indian-ocean173500991.html Des navires de guerre chinois sont présents dans l'océan Indien. Ces navires de guerre sont en mission de lutte contre la piraterie. Ils y ont été déployés pour se protéger contre les pirates, qui...

(Info) INDE – Le MEA devrait faire des efforts sincères pour renforcer la coopération...

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/india/mea-should-make-sincereefforts-to-enhance-global-cooperation-on-maritime-piracy-parl-panel/articleshow/80867248.cms Le ministère des affaires étrangères devrait faire des efforts sincères pour renforcer la coopération internationale en matière de piraterie maritime et assurer le bien-être des marins indiens capturés par les pirates, a déclaré jeudi...

(Info) IRAN – L’Iran accepte de libérer l’équipage du pétrolier sud-coréen saisi le mois...

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2021/2/2/iran-agrees-to-release-crew-of-seizedsouth-korean-tanker Le gouvernement iranien dit qu'il a accepté de permettre aux membres de l'équipage d'un navire sud-coréen qu'il a saisi le mois dernier pour une prétendue pollution environnementale de quitter le pays. "Suite à une demande...

(Ops) MER ROUGE – La coalition arabe a déjoué deux attaques Houthies

https://gulfnews.com/world/gulf/saudi/arab-coalition-foils-two-al-houthiattacks-1.1611315159933 Une coalition arabe dirigée par l'Arabie saoudite a déjoué vendredi deux attaques "terroristes" lancées par la milice Al Houthi du Yémen alignée sur l'Iran et visant l'Arabie saoudite. La coalition a intercepté et détruit un...

(Info) DETROIT D’ORMUZ – La Corée du Sud déplace son unité anti-piraterie à l’écart...

https://www.tehrantimes.com/news/457092/South-Korea-moves-antipiracy-unit-away-from-Strait-of-Hormuz Afin de calmer les tensions avec l'Iran, la Corée du Sud a décidé d'éloigner de la voie maritime son unité navale anti-piraterie opérant près du détroit d'Ormuz, un point stratégique, a rapporté lundi l'agence...

(Info) SOMALIE – Le Bureau maritime international appelle à la vigilance sur la piraterie...

https://newsghana.com.gh/international-maritime-bureau-urges-vigilance-onpiracy-off-coast-of-somalia/ Le BMI a appelé mercredi les navires étrangers à rester vigilants lors de leur transit en mer d'Arabie et dans le golfe d'Aden, affirmant que malgré la baisse de la piraterie au large des...

(Info) GOLFE PERSIQUE – IRGC, les forces iraniennes sont en pleine alerte

https://en.mehrnews.com/news/168386/IRGC-Army-naval-forces-on-fullalert-in-Persian-Gulf-waters Les forces navales iraniennes sont en état d'alerte et contrôlent totalement les eaux du golfe Persique et la mer d'Oman contre toute provocation extérieure, a déclaré le commandant de la marine du Corps des...

(Info) IRAN – La Corée du Sud engage des efforts diplomatiques pour libérer le...

https://www.thenationalnews.com/world/south-korea-begins-diplomaticefforts-to-release-chemical-tanker-seized-by-iran-1.1140613 Le ministère sud-coréen des affaires étrangères examine si un diplomate de haut rang se rendra à Téhéran dimanche comme prévu après que les forces iraniennes aient saisi un chimiquier battant pavillon sud-coréen dans les...

(Info) MOYEN-ORIENT – Une série d’attaques contre des navires au Moyen-Orient montre que le...

https://news.usni.org/2021/01/06/spate-of-attacks-on-ships-in-middle-eastpoints-to-iran-backed-group Le Moyen-Orient reste une zone instable pour la marine marchande en cette nouvelle année, selon l'analyse des attaques contre les navires dans la région. Les pétroliers et autres navires civils sont confrontés à des...