22 C
Antananarivo, MG
Friday, October 19, 2018

RMIFC

On April 29th, 2018, at the Ministerial Conference on Maritime Safety and Security held in Mauritius, five States from the ESA-IO Region,namely Djibouti, Madagascar, Mauritius, Union of Comoros and Seychelles, signed the Regional Agreement for the Setting up of a Regional Maritime Information Exchange and Sharing Mechanismin the Western Indian Ocean. Other states in the region are planning to join the regional agreement in near future. Articles 5 to 12 and the annex to the said regional agreement define the legal basis related to the organization and the functioning of the RMIFC.

Historic

In line with the implementation of Eastern and Southern Africa and Indian Ocean (ESA-OI) Strategy for the fight against maritime piracy (2010 and 2013),a Regional Maritime Security Programme (MASE Programme), financed by the European Union and coordinated by the Indian Ocean Commission (IOC), was set up from 2013 for the benefit of ESA-IO region and focused on following five results, under the coordination of regional organizations in the region:

  • Result 1: Coordinated by the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) and working for promotion of alternative livelihoods through learning, and advocacy support against maritime piracy and strengthening of maritime coordination mechanisms in Somalia.
  • Result 2: Coordinated by the Eastern Africa Community (EAC), aims to strengthen and develop national and regional legal and infrastructural capacities for arrest, transfer, detention and trial of individuals suspected of maritime piracy.
  • Result 3: Coordinated by the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) and aims at strengthening regional capacities to fight financial networks related to piracy, while acting on structural factors to reduce  economic impact of illicit financial activities related to maritime insecurity
  • Result 4: Coordinated by the Indian Ocean Commission (IOC), aims to put in place mechanism to improve national and regional capacities for the State action at sea through operational co-ordination
  • Result 5: Coordinated by the Indian Ocean Commission (IOC), aims to promote and develop a regional mechanism for the exchange of maritime information.

In connection with the implementation of Result 5 of the MASE Programme,

the establishment of a Regional Maritime Information Center (RMIFC) is one of the important activities of this result. To this end, through the IOC, the ESA-OI region launched a call for application to host the RMIFC in 2013. Madagascar has been confirmed by the States of ESA-OI region as the host country of the RMIFC during the Ministerial Conference on Maritime Safety and Security in the ESA-OI region held in Djibouti on May 15th, 2016.

Photographer

The first semester of 2016 was marked by the pre-operational phase or the pilot phase of the center while the second semester of that year was the beginning of thestart-up phase up to the present day. Several steps have been taken by RMIFC since this start-up phase, including staff training, expansion of information exchange network,setting up of thecommunication tools (Website, Twitter and Facebook) and the production of basicdeliverables (Daily Brief, ESA-IO Ports Maritime TrafficStatus, Press Summary, Recognized Maritime Picture, Weekly Report on Maritime Safety and Security in theESA-IO Region, Monthly Report on Maritime Security and Safety intheESA-OI Region and Annual Report on Maritime Security and Safety in the ESA-IO Region).

FR

26 C
Antananarivo, MG
mardi, décembre 18, 2018

CRFIM

Le 29 avril 2018, lors de la Conférence Ministérielle sur la Sécurité et Sûreté Maritime organisée à Maurice, cinq Etats de la région AfOA-OI, ont signé l’Accord régional de mise en place d’un mécanisme régional d’échange et de partage de l’information maritime dans l’Océan Indien Occidental dont Djibouti, Madagascar, Maurice, l’Union des Comores et les Seychelles. D’autres Etats de la région prévoient d’adhérer à l’accord régional dans un futur proche. Les Articles 5 à 12 et l’annexe dudit accord régional définissent les bases juridiques d’organisation et de fonctionnement du CRFIM.

Historiques

Dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie de l’Afrique Orientale, Australe et Océan Indien (AfOA-OI) pour la lutte contre la piraterie maritime (2010 et 2013), un Programme de Sécurisation Maritime dénommé MASE, financé par l’Union Européenne, a été mise en place à partir de 2013 au profit de la région AfOA-OI et axé sur les cinq résultats suivants,sous la coordination des organisations régionales dans la région :

  • Résultat 1: Coordonné par l’IGAD et œuvrant pour la promotion des moyens de subsistance alternatifs à travers l’apprentissage, et l’appui au plaidoyer contre la piraterie maritime et le renforcement des mécanismes de coordination maritime en Somalie.
  • Résultat 2: Coordonné par l’EAC, vise à renforcer et le développer les capacités nationales et régionales sur les plans légaux et infrastructurels pour l’arrestation, le transfert, la détention et le jugement des individus suspectés d’actes de piraterie maritime.
  • Résultat 3 : Coordonné par le COMESA et vise à renforcer les capacités régionales de lutte contre les réseaux financiers liés à la piraterie, tout en agissant sur les facteurs structurels pour réduire l’impact économique des activités financières illicites liées à l’insécurité maritime
  • Résultat 4 : Coordonné par la COI vise à mettre en place un mécanisme d’amélioration des capacités nationales et régionales d’action de l’Etat en mer à travers la coordination opérationnelle
  • Résultat 5: Coordonné par la COI, vise à promouvoir et développer un mécanisme régional d’échange d’informations maritimes.

En lien avec la mise en œuvre du Résultat 5 du Programme MASE

La mise en place d’un Centre Régional de Fusion d’Informations Maritimes (CRFIM) figure parmi les importantes activités de ce résultat. A cet effet, à travers la COI, la région AfOA-OI a lancé un appel à candidature pour l’hébergement du CRFIM en 2013. Madagascar a été confirmé par les Etats de l’AfOA-OI comme Etat hôte du CRFIM lors de la Conférence Ministérielle sur la Sécurité et la Sûreté Maritime dans la région de l’AfOA-OI qui s’est tenue à Djibouti le 15 mai 2016.

Photographer

Le premier semestre de l’année 2016 a été marqué par la phase pré-opérationnelle ou phase pilote du centre tandis que le deuxième semestre de cette année a été le début de la phase de démarrage jusqu’à ce jour. Plusieurs étapes ont été franchies par le CRFIM depuis cette phase de démarrage notamment la formation du personnel, l’expansion du réseau d’échange d’information, la mise en place d’outils de communication (Site Web, Twitter et Facebook) et la production des livrables de base (Briefing Journalier, Statut du trafic maritime dans les ports de l’AfOA-OI, Résumé de Presse, Image Maritime Reconnue, Rapport Hebdomadaire sur la Sécurité et la Sûreté Maritime dans la région AfOA-OI, Rapport Mensuel sur la Sécurité et la Sûreté Maritime dans la région AfOA-OI et Rapport Annuel sur la Sécurité et la Sûreté Maritime dans la région AfOA-OI).

ENG