https://themaritimehub.com/saudi-arabia-officially-introduces-first-bespoke-maritime-law/

The ambition and projects set out in Vision 2030 to make Saudi Arabia a logistics and maritime hub necessitated the expansion and regulation of the maritime industry. The issuance of the first bespoke Maritime Law indicates the importance of the maritime sector to Saudi Arabia’s economy and development plans, and is a significant development in regulating the sector. In this article, we look at some of the key issues covered by the Maritime Law and what it means for Saudi and non-Saudi vessels.
In January 2019, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (the Kingdom) introduced, for the first time, a bespoke Commercial Maritime Law (the Maritime Law) issued pursuant to Royal Decree No. M/33 dated 5 Rabi’ II 1440H (corresponding to 12 December 2018) and published it in the Official Gazette on Friday, 4 January 2019. The Maritime Law came into effect on 3 July 2019.
The Maritime Law applies to all Saudi Arabian flagged vessels and foreign vessels that call at the Kingdom’s ports and territorial waters. The Maritime Law does not however apply to warships and public vessels which have been allocated for non-commercial purposes. (…)

https://themaritimehub.com/saudi-arabia-officially-introduces-first-bespoke-maritime-law/

L‘ambition et les projets énoncés dans Vision 2030 de faire de l’Arabie saoudite une plaque tournante logistique et maritime ont nécessité l’expansion et la régulation de l’industrie maritime. La publication de la première loi maritime sur mesure témoigne de l’importance du secteur maritime pour l’économie et les plans de développement de l’Arabie saoudite, et constitue un progrès important dans la réglementation de ce secteur. Dans cet article, nous examinons certaines des questions clés couvertes par le droit maritime et ce que cela signifie pour les navires saoudiens et non saoudiens.
En janvier 2019, le Royaume d’Arabie saoudite (le Royaume) a introduit, pour la première fois, une loi maritime commerciale sur mesure (la Loi maritime) publiée en vertu du Décret royal no. M/33 du 5 Rabi’ II 1440H (correspondant au 12 décembre 2018) et publié au Journal officiel le vendredi 4 janvier 2019. La loi maritime est entrée en vigueur le 3 juillet 2019.
La loi maritime s’applique à tous les navires battant pavillon saoudien et aux navires étrangers qui font escale dans les ports et les eaux territoriales du Royaume. Le droit maritime ne s’applique toutefois pas aux navires de guerre et aux navires publics qui ont été affectés à des fins non commerciales. (…)