https://indiaclimatedialogue.net/2019/03/18/forecasting-with-kerala-fishers-for-safe-fishing/

Marine weather forecasts are getting popular slowly and steadily on the Arabian Sea coast of Thiruvananthapuram in south India, home to one of the largest and most diverse concentrations of artisanal (small scale) fishers.
Amid this newfound interest in marine forecasts, research by the University of Sussex in Britain — in collaboration with Indian forecasters and Kerala State Disaster Management Authority (SDMA) — seeks ways to fill the gap between what forecasters offer and local fishers demand.
In a policy brief released in February, researchers noted that there is often a gap between what marine weather forecasters provide and artisanal fishers accept as useful information to decide whether or not to go to fish, especially in rough weather. To fill this gap, the forecasters need to listen to the fishers, the interdisciplinary Sussex team said.

https://indiaclimatedialogue.net/2019/03/18/forecasting-with-kerala-fishers-for-safe-fishing/

Les prévisions météorologiques maritimes sont de plus en plus populaires sur la côte de la mer d’Arabie de Thiruvananthapuram dans le sud de l’Inde, où se concentre l’une des plus grandes et des plus diverses concentrations de pêcheurs artisanaux (à petite échelle).
Au milieu de ce nouvel intérêt pour les prévisions maritimes, les recherches menées par l’Université du Sussex en Grande-Bretagne – en collaboration avec des prévisionnistes indiens et la Kerala State Disaster Management Authority (SDMA) – cherchent des moyens de combler l’écart entre ce que les prévisionnistes offrent et la demande des pêcheurs locaux.
Dans un mémoire publié en février, les chercheurs ont noté qu’il y a souvent un écart entre ce que les prévisionnistes de la météo marine fournissent et ce que les pêcheurs artisanaux acceptent comme information utile pour décider d’aller pêcher ou non, surtout par mauvais temps. Pour combler cette lacune, les prévisionnistes doivent écouter les pêcheurs, selon l’équipe interdisciplinaire de Sussex.