http://www.linfodrome.com/economie/37932-ressources-halieutiques-pourquoi-le-poisson-manque-dans-nos-eaux

The Workshop on the Formulation of the African Strategy for the Sound Management of the Organs of Inland Waters of Africa, held from Monday 26 to Thursday, 29 March 2018 at the Africana Hotel in Kampala, Uganda, revealed the weaknesses the exploitation of inland waterways and water bodies in relation to fisheries resources.
And yet, Africa is endowed with innumerable resources that include natural and artificial rivers, lakes, streams, ponds, swamps, lagoons, and so on. These include Lake Victoria, Tanganyika, Chad, the Niger and Nile basins. “Despite these achievements, the potential of inland fisheries is under-evaluated,” said Ua-Bira Animal Resources Director Dr Nouala Simplice. It is this body, in collaboration with the Agency of the New Partnership for Africa’s Development (Nepad), with the participation of the Lake Victoria Fisheries Organization (Lvfo) and the financial support of the Union. European Union (EU), which initiated this workshop which mobilized in the Ugandan capital 75 participants who are representatives of the Member States of the African Union, Regional Economic Communities (Cer). But also continental water management organizations and relevant members of the Ua-Bira staff, including experts, specialists, scientists, media men and communicators, as well as sustainable fisheries activists.
The objective of this important meeting was to formulate a pan-African strategy for an effective management of these riches that the States have in common and with the fishermen of the countries concerned. African states have justified the interest of the Kampala initiative by the decline in marine fisheries resources that pose a threat to food security. Conscious of this reality, they consider it necessary to invest in the continental fishery in order to fill the gap. The contribution of the fishing practiced in the waters of the African continent is estimated at 10,66% in nutrition, food safety and animal proteins. (…)

http://www.linfodrome.com/economie/37932-ressources-halieutiques-pourquoi-le-poisson-manque-dans-nos-eaux

L’atelier sur la formulation de la stratégie africaine pour la gestion rationnelle des organes des eaux continentales d’Afrique qui s’est tenu du lundi 26 au jeudi 29 mars 2018 à l’hôtel Africana de Kampala, en Ouganda, a révélé les faiblesses de l’exploitation des réseaux hydrographiques et plans d’eau continentaux, pour ce qui est des ressources halieutiques.
Et pourtant, l’Afrique est dotée d’innombrables ressources qui regroupent les rivières naturelles et artificielles, les lacs, les cours d’eau, les étangs, les marécages, les lagunes, etc. On peut citer, entre autres, les lacs Victoria, Tanganyika, Tchad, les bassins du Niger et du Nil. « Malgré ces acquis, les potentialités de la pêche continentale sont sous-évaluées », a déploré le Directeur des Ressources Animales de l’Ua-Bira, Dr Nouala Simplice. C’est cet organisme, en collaboration avec l’Agence du Nouveau partenariat pour le développement de l’Afrique (Nepad), avec la participation de l’Organisation des pêches du lac Victoria (Lvfo) et l’appui financier de l’Union européenne (Ue), qui a initié cet atelier qui a mobilisé dans la capitale ouganidaise 75 participants que sont des représentants des États membres de l’Union Africaine, des Communautés économiques régionales (Cer), mais également des organismes de gestion des eaux continentales et des membres concernés du personnel de l’Ua-Bira, incluant des experts, spécialistes, scientifiques, des hommes des médias et communicateurs, ainsi que des activistes de la pêche durable.
L’objectif de cette importante rencontre était de formuler une stratégie panafricaine pour une gestion efficace de ces richesses que les Etats ont en commun et avec les pêcheurs des pays concernés. Les Etats africains ont justifié l’intérêt de l’initiative de Kampala par la baisse des ressources au niveau de la pêche maritime qui constitue une menace pour la sécurité alimentaire. Conscients de cette réalité, ils jugent nécessaire de s’investir dans la pêche continentale afin de combler le déficit. L’apport de la pêche pratiquée dans les eaux du continent africain est estimé à 10,66% en nutrition, sécurité alimentaire et protéines animales. (…)