https://www.maritime-executive.com/article/dar-es-salaam-seaport-tackles-illegal-wildlife-trade

57 representatives of key port stakeholder groups have agreed on a collective way forward to tackle wildlife trafficking through Tanzania’s sea ports. Specific actions discussed include improvement of risk profiling systems as well as mechanisms to strengthen inter-agency and public-private sector collaboration, investigative capacity and information exchange.
The measures were discussed during a Port Stakeholders Workshop hosted by the TRAFFIC, UNDP and UNODC, in partnership with the Wildlife Division of Tanzania’s Ministry of Natural Resources and Tourism, the Tanzania Ports Authority and the Tanzania Revenue Authority.
Each year, Tanzania attracts global tourists to view the seasonal migration of wild animals across the Serengeti grasslands, home to over 20 migratory species, including the African elephant. Tanzania is also a major gateway to the interior of East Africa. Dar es Salaam is one of the key African port cities on China’s “Ocean Silk Road,” and about 95 percent of Tanzania’s international trade is handled by the Port of Dar es Salaam.
As a biodiversity hotspot with reliable and efficient international transport chains, Tanzania’s seaports are highly vulnerable to illegal wildlife trade. In recent years, Tanzanian ports have been on the front lines of large-scale illegal wildlife seizures, intercepting shipments of ivory, leopard skins and shark fins, among other commonly-traded wildlife products. (…)

https://www.maritime-executive.com/article/dar-es-salaam-seaport-tackles-illegal-wildlife-trade

57 représentants des principaux groupes d’acteurs portuaires se sont mis d’accord sur une voie collective pour s’attaquer au trafic d’espèces sauvages dans les ports maritimes de Tanzanie. Parmi les mesures spécifiques examinées figurent l’amélioration des systèmes de profilage des risques ainsi que des mécanismes visant à renforcer la collaboration interinstitutions et entre les secteurs public et privé, la capacité d’enquête et l’échange d’informations.
Les mesures ont été discutées lors d’un atelier des parties prenantes portuaires organisé par TRAFFIC, le PNUD et l’ONUDC, en partenariat avec la Division de la faune sauvage du Ministère tanzanien des ressources naturelles et du tourisme, la Tanzania Ports Authority et la Tanzania Revenue Authority.
Chaque année, la Tanzanie attire les touristes du monde entier pour observer la migration saisonnière des animaux sauvages à travers les prairies du Serengeti, où vivent plus de 20 espèces migratrices, dont l’éléphant d’Afrique. La Tanzanie est également une porte d’entrée importante vers l’intérieur de l’Afrique de l’Est. Dar es Salaam est l’une des principales villes portuaires africaines sur la “Route de la soie océanique” en Chine, et environ 95 % du commerce international de la Tanzanie est assuré par le port de Dar es Salaam.
En tant que haut lieu de la biodiversité avec des chaînes de transport international fiables et efficaces, les ports maritimes de Tanzanie sont très vulnérables au commerce illégal d’espèces sauvages. (…)